# Official Delegations of National Adhering Organizations at 42nd IUPAC Council Meeting 7-8 August, 2003, Ottawa, Canada

(As of 11 July 2003)

Argentina (not available) 2 votes Australia 4 votes Prof. John Ralston Leader of Delegation, President of Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Division Vice President of Organic and Dr. David Black Biomolecular Chemistry Division Prof. Allan Canty Non-voting Secretary Prof. Mary Garson Prof. Robert G. Gilbert, Elected Member of Bureau Member: Bureau, Past President of Macromolecular Division 3 votes <u>Austria</u> Prof. Ulrich Schubert **Belgium** 5 votes Prof. Paul de Bièvre Brazil 4 votes Prof. Carol H. Collins Prof. Roberto Faria 1 vote Bulgaria

Prof. Christo Balarew

Dr. Nedyalko Popov

Non-voting Secretary

(As of 12 July 2003)

<u>Canada</u> 4 votes

Dr. Bryan R. Henry

Dr. Linda Johnston Leader of Delegation

Dr. John R. Morton

Prof. Vedene H. Smith

Dr. Christopher I. Ratcliffe Non-voting Secretary

Bureau Members: Prof. Thomas T. Tidwell, President of

Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry

Division

Dr. A. Nelson Wright, Chairman of Committee on Chemistry and Industry

(COCI)

<u>Chile</u> (not available) 3 votes

<u>Chinese Chemical Society - Beijing</u> 5 votes

Prof. Chunli Bai Leader of Delegation and Elected Member

of Bureau

Prof. Xibai Qiu Non-voting Secretary

Mr. Xi Fang

Prof. Zhongfan Liu

Dr. Long Lu

Prof. Jiannian Yao

Chinese Chemical Society - Taipei 4 votes

Prof. Kan-Nan Chen

Prof. Ling-Kang Liu Non-voting Secretary

Dr. Chun-Chen Liao

Prof. Chung-Yuan Mou

Dr. Cheng-Ching Wu

<u>Croatia</u> 1 vote

Prof. Tomislav Cvitas Chairman, Interdivisional Committee on

Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols

(ICTNS)

(As of 12 July 2003)

Czech Republic 2 votes Prof. Pavel Kratochvil Prof. Jaroslav Kahovec Non-voting Secretary Prof. Jiri Vohlidal Denmark 3 votes Dr. Ture Damhus 2 votes **Egypt** Prof. Ameen Farouk Fahmy Prof. Ezz-Eldin M. Salem Finland 3 votes Prof. Risto Laitinen **France** 5 votes Prof. Igor Tkatchenko Prof. Jean-Pierre Vairon Bureau Member Prof. Nicole J. Moreau, Elected Member of Bureau Germany 6 votes Prof. Wolfram Koch Bureau Member Prof. Gerhard M. Schneider, Elected Member of Bureau Prof. Werner Klein, President of Chemistry and the Environment Division <u>Greece</u> (not available) 2 votes **Hungary** 2 votes

Prof. George Horvai

Prof. Józef Nyitrai

(As of 12 July 2003)

India 5 votes

Dr. Srinivasan Chandrasekaran Elected Member of Bureau

Prof. Narayanan Chandrakumar

Dr. B. B. Lohray

Dr. J. P. Mittal

<u>Ireland</u> 4 votes

Prof. A. Frank Hegarty

<u>Israel</u> 3 votes

Prof. Arnon Shani

<u>Italy</u> 5 votes

Prof. Giuseppe Della Gatta

Prof. Franco Pavese

Japan 6 votes

Prof. Tasuku Ito

Prof. Hiroshi Kitagawa

Prof. Susumu Kitagawa

Prof. Hitoshi Ohtaki Elected Member of Bureau, Member of

**Executive Committee** 

Prof. Kazuyuki Tatsumi

Prof. Keitarou Yoshihara

Korea, Republic of 4 votes

Prof. Jung Il Jin Vice President of Macromolecular Division

Dr. Bong Young Chung

Prof. Sang Chul Shim

Prof. Taihyun Chang

(As of 12 July 2003)

<u>Kuwait</u> 1 vote

Dr. Khalidah Al-Dalama

Mr. Adnan Al-Shalfan Non-voting Secretary

Netherlands 4 votes

Prof. Gus Somsen Elected Member of Bureau

Dr. Iwan P. Thonus

New Zealand 2 votes

Prof. H. Kipton Powell Vice President of Analytical Chemistry

Division

Dr. Richard M. Hartshorn

Norway 3 votes

Dr. Tore Benneche

Prof. Nils Arne Jentoft

Bureau Member: Prof. Leiv Sydnes, Vice President of

**IUPAC** 

<u>Pakistan</u> 2 votes

Prof. Atta-ur-Rahman

Prof. M. Iqbal Choudhary

Poland 3 votes

Prof. Bogdan Marcineic

Portugal 3 votes

Prof. Bernardo J. Herold Secretary, Interdivisional Committee on

Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols

(ICTNS)

<u>Puerto Rico</u> 4 votes

Prof. Gabriel Infante

Prof. Ram S. Lamba

Dr. Edgard Resto

Dr. Carlos A. Tollinche

(As of 12 July 2003)

<u>Russia</u> 4 votes

Prof. Oleg M. Nefedov Elected Member of Bureau

Dr. Petr Fedotov

Prof. Vadim T. Ivanov

Prof. Boris F. Myasoedov

Slovak Republic 2 votes

Dr. Dusan Berek

Slovenia 2 votes

Prof. Venceslav Kaucic

South Africa 3 votes

Prof. John D. Bradley

Dr. Michael D. Booth

Dr. N. S. Nhlapo Non-voting Secretary

Bureau Member: Prof. Pieter S. Steyn, President of IUPAC

Spain 4 votes

Dr. Luis A. Oro

Sweden 3 votes

Dr. Anders Kallner President of Chemistry & Human Health

Division

Prof. Torbjörn Norin Past President of Organic and

Biomolecular Chemistry Division

Mr. Jonas Unger

Switzerland 4 votes

Dr. Reinhard Neier

Bureau Member: Dr. Christoph F. Buxtorf, Treasurer of

**IUPAC** 

<u>Turkey</u> 2 votes

Prof. Hale Bayram

(As of 12 July 2003)

<u>United Kingdom</u> 5 votes

Prof. Peter W. Atkins

Leader of the Delegation, Chairman of

Committee on Chemistry Education (CCE)

Prof. C. Robin Ganellin

Dr. Joseph Sweeney

Mr. Stanley S. Langer Non-voting Secretary

Dr. Wendy A. Warr Chairman, Committee on Printed and

**Electronic Publications** 

Dr. Alan Smith Elected Member of Bureau

Bureau Member: Dr. Alan Hayes, Past President of IUPAC

<u>United States</u> 6 votes

Dr. Karin Bartels

Dr. David Bonner

Dr. Michael Jaffe Leader of Delegation

Prof. Herbert D. Kaesz

Dr. Edwin P. Przybylowicz Elected Member of Bureau, Chairman of

Finance Committee

Dr. Elsa Reichmanis

Bureau Member: Dr. Edwin D. Becker, Secretary General of

**IUPAC** 

<u>Yugoslavia</u> (not available) 1 vote

#### **Observers of Other Organizations**

(as of 12 July 2003)

Observers of National Adhering Organizations

Canada: Dr. Alex M. McAuley

Dr. Mark Stradiotto

United Kingdom: Dr. Richard S. Blackburn

Dr. Stuart L. James Dr. M. Cristina Lagunas Dr. Brian R. Saunders

Observers of Associate National Adhering Organizations

Bangladesh: Prof. Mohammed Mosihuzzaman

Malaysia: Prof. Ting-Kueh Soon

Observers of Associated Organizations

Federation of Asian Chemical Societies: Prof. Ting-Kueh Soon

Federation of European Chemical Societies: Prof. Igor Tkatchenko

Observers of Other Organizations

Cameroon: Prof. Michel M. Bélombé

Ghana: Dr. David K. Dodoo

Kenya: Mr. Kelvin Khisa

Papua New Guinea: Prof. Kirpal Singh