I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



41st IUPAC Council Meeting

Brisbane, Australia, 7-8 July 2001

41st IUPAC General Assembly
> Info page

Election of Officers and Bureau Members

According to Statute 5.401, Council must elect:

  • Officers of the Union
  • Elected Members of the Bureau

Nominations for the various positions that fall vacant at the end of 2001 must be received by the Secretary General at the IUPAC Secretariat before 7 May 2001, i.e., two months before the start of the Council meeting (Bylaw 2.221). The situation for each position is set out below:


Prof. Pieter S. Steyn (South Africa), Vice President and President-Elect, becomes President on 1 January 2002 (Statute 4.2).

> View '99 bio - while candidate for vice president


Vice President–Vacancy
The vice president to be elected at the 41st Council Meeting will be president-elect, and will become president on 1 January 2004.

Nominations for vice president received are as follows:

  • Prof. Hitoshi Ohtaki (Japan) > bio
  • Prof. Leiv K. Sydnes (Norway) > bio

The retiring President, Dr. Alan Hayes (UK) will remain an Officer (Statute 6.1) and a Member of the Bureau for a period of two years (Statute 7.2).

Secretary General
Dr. Edwin D. Becker (USA), the present Secretary General, was elected to a second four-year term (2000- 2003) in 1999.

Dr. Christoph F. Buxtorf (UK), the present Treasurer, was elected to a four-year term (2000-2003) in 1999.

Bureau–Six Vacancies (Minimum)
According to Statute 7.2, the Bureau consists of the Officers, the Presidents of the Divisions/Sections, together with not less than ten other Members elected by Council, who shall be known as "Elected Members".

At the conclusion of the 40th Council in Berlin, there were ten Elected Members of the Bureau. At the 41st Council, the Bureau will make recommendations to Council as to the number of Elected Members (ten or more), who should be on the Bureau for the succeeding two years.

Elected Members are elected for a period of four years, and they are eligible for election for a second period of four years.

No Adhering Organization shall have more than one Elected Member of the Bureau.

Statute 7.2 also states that "the principle of fair geographical representation of Members shall be taken into account".

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2001, who are not eligible for reelection, but may be nominated for another office:
Prof. E. J. Grzywa (Poland); Prof. J. W. Lorimer (Canada); Prof. L. Sydnes (Norway); Prof. C.-H. Zhang (China).

Elected Members of Bureau, retiring in 2001, who are eligible for reelection for a further four-year period:
Dr. E. P. Przybylowicz (USA); Prof. G. Somsen (Netherlands).

Elected Members of Bureau, who were elected at the 40th Council until 2003:
Prof. N. J. Moreau (France); Prof. O. M. Nefedov (Russia); Prof. H. Ohtaki (Japan); Prof. G. M. Schneider (Germany).

At least six Elected Members of the Bureau must be elected at the 41st Council in Brisbane, i.e., the minimum number of ten Elected Members (Statute 7.2) less the four Elected Members who continue in office until 2003.

Nominations for Bureau received by the statutory deadline of May 7th, 2001, are as follows:

  • Prof. C. Bai (China) > bio
  • Prof. S. Chandrasekaran (India) > bio
  • Prof. R. G. Gilbert (Australia) > bio
  • Prof. Dr. S. Gültekin (Turkey) > bio
  • Prof. G. Horvai (Hungary) > bio
  • Prof. J. �. J�nsson (Sweden) > bio
  • Prof. M. Moo-Young (Canada) > bio
  • Dr. E. P. Przybylowicz (USA)–reappointment > bio
  • Dr. A. Smith (UK) > bio
  • Prof. G. Somsen (Netherlands)–reappointment > bio


The situation -as of 28 March 2001- was published in Chem. Int. 23(3), 72-79, 2001. At that time, the nominations of Prof. C. Bai, Prof. S. Chandrasekaran, and Prof. J.A. J�nsson had not yet been received.

Page last modified 24 May 2001.
Copyright ©1997-2001 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact web manager.